Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Faculty Awards and Recognition

Awards List

Faculty awards are given annually to honor those faculty members who epitomize the highest levels of excellence in the pursuit of the university’s mission and goals. Each fall the Provost calls for nominations for these awards. The awards are presented to the faculty recipients at Showcase, our day for recognizing the achievements of our faculty and staff (usually the first Friday after spring break). The faculty awards include:

Eminent Faculty Award

The Washington State University Eminent Faculty Award was first presented in 2000. Recipient must have changed the thinking in his or her field by making lasting contributions through teaching, research, creative scholarship, and service; and the recipient must have contributed notably to the vitality and strength of the Washington State University Community. This award is the university’s highest faculty honor.

Distinguished Faculty Address

Each year the University recognizes the work of one faculty member whose achievements in research, scholarship, and teaching place that person in the front ranks of his or her discipline. The institution invites that individual to deliver a Distinguished Faculty Address to the University community.

Outstanding Department Chair or Director

The selection committee will evaluate nominations on the evidence of qualities that distinguish the nominee as an outstanding department chair or school director.

V. Lane Rawlins President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service

The Washington State University V. Lane Rawlins President’s Award for Distinguished Lifetime Service honors dedicated individuals who have given a substantial part of their career to advancing WSU through excellent service in administration, teaching, research, extension, or a professional field.

President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Instructors and Clinical Faculty

The President’s Distinguished Teaching Award for Instructors and Clinical Faculty is presented to a member of the faculty in recognition of truly outstanding accomplishments in the establishment of excellence in the instructional programs of Washington State University.

Sahlin Faculty Excellence Awards

The four Sahlin Awards recognize outstanding achievement in one of the following areas of faculty performance: Instruction, Leadership, Outreach and Engagement, and, Research, Scholarship and Arts.

Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award

The Samuel H. Smith Leadership Award was established in 2000 to show appreciation to President Emeritus Smith for his leadership in advancing the role of women at WSU. The recipient of the Award shall be an Association for Faculty Women member whose leadership has advanced the role of women in the Washington State University system and/or who has demonstrated leadership in higher education, the community, or her profession at the local, state, regional, national or international level.

Faculty Diversity Award

To recognize distinctive and outstanding teaching, research or creative work and/or service/outreach that advance diversity at Washington State University. Diversity is the variety of cultures, world views, values and personal experiences that may result from differences in race, ethnicity, gender, age, religion, language, abilities, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, geographic region, and more.

Regents Professors

The rank of regents professor can be held by no more than 30 Washington State University faculty members at any one time. Promotion to regents professor requires service to the university for at least 7 years and attainment of the highest level of professional achievement. Each college may nominate only two faculty members as candidates for this promotion each year. Those who are promoted to regents professor receive a 10% raise and are honored at the Celebration of Excellence Dinner at Showcase. Those who are not selected for promotion may be nominated again.